Board and Staff

(L-R Pictured) Sanjuana, Blanca, Johanna, Alejandra, Miriam, Jaime, Jordan
(L-R Pictured) Sanjuana, Blanca, Johanna, Alejandra, Miriam, Jaime, Jordan

Board and Staff

Board of Directors

Valentin C. Sanchez- Chair 

Valentin is a Community Educator at Oregon Law Center, a non-profit organization that provides free legal help for low-income Oregonians. Valentin was born in San Juan Cahuayaxi, Oaxaca, Mexico and immigrated to the United States at age 13 with his parents. He attended Tongue Point Job Corps and Clatsop Community College in Astoria, Oregon. He is a former farmworker and speaks Mixteco, Spanish and English. During his free time, he enjoys spending time with his wife and four children. Trilingual/Tricultural.

Rafael Salazar- Secretary 

Rafael is an Eligibility, Recruitment, Selection, Enrollment, and Attendance Specialist at Head Start of Yamhill County. He is an immigrant from El Salvador and earned his Bachelor's degree in Computer Science. He is bilingual/bicultural.

Sylvia Ruiz 

Sylvia is a parent leader with the Newberg School District's Migrant Program. She serves on the planning committee for The Old Fashioned Festival's International Stage. She is the seamstress and costume designer for the children's Ballet Folklorico DNA, De Nuestros Ancestros. She is an immigrant from Mexico and is currently working on earning her Bachelor's degree through UNAM, the National Autonomous University of Mexico.

Kimberly Contreras 

Kymberli works for Adelante Mujeres as an Assistant Director of Special Projects. Born in Dallas, Texas she has a B.A. from Duke University and an MBA from Alfred University in NY. Kymberli’s professional background includes fundraising for academia and program development for state agencies in Oregon and New York.

Ramon Alvarez

Ramon is a math teacher at McMinnville High School. He immigrated from Mexico as a teenager with his family and graduated from Dayton High School. He earned his Bachelor's degree at Linfield College and his Master's degree at Western Oregon University. He is bilingual/bicultural. In his spare time, he coaches his daughter's soccer team.

 

Staff

Miriam Vargas Corona   miriam@unidosyamhillcounty.org 

Executive Director

Jordan Hitchcock   jordan@unidosyamhillcounty.org 

Community Engagement Coordinator

Alejandra Cortes   alejandra@unidosyamhillcounty.org 

OHP Outreach & Enrollment Assister

Johanna Cuevas   johanna@unidosyamhillcounty.org

Administrative Assistant 

Blanca Plancarte   blanca@unidosyamhillcounty.org

Field Navigator

Jaime Flores     jaime@unidosyamhillcounty.org

Field Navigator

Sanjuana Aguirre   sanjuana@unidosyamhillcounty.org

Field Navigator

 

Web Design and Web Development by Buildable